About the Alabama Senate Republican Caucus

Conservative. Focus. Committed.

Over the past four years, Senate Republicans proposed and implemented bold reforms to address many issues important to Alabamians. Now in their second quadrennium of leadership, Senate Republicans are protecting taxpayers, empowering education, and creating job opportunities. These conservative ideas will pave a path for the future to make Alabama a better place to live, work, and raise a family.


The President Pro Tempore (Pro Tem) role leads the Senate and is filled through election by the full Senate membership. Senator Del Marsh (R-Anniston) is in his second term as Pro Tem of the Alabama State Senate. During that time, he has pushed for monumental reforms that are positively reshaping the state.

Majority Leader is the other elected position voted on by the majority (Republicans). Senator Greg Reed (R-Japser) was selected by his peers to serve in this role, which is tasked with assisting the Pro Tem in leadership and serving the members.

Senate Rules Chairman Jabo Waggoner (R-Vestavia Hills) brings vast experience to the Senate leadership team. He previously served as the Majority Leader and Chairman of the Confirmations Committee.

Senate Finance & Taxation General Fund Chairman Trip Pittman (R-Montrose) is a third-term state senator and charged with leading the allocation of education spending.

Senate Finance & Taxation Education Chairman Arthur Orr (R-Decatur) is also a third-term state senator who has the difficult duty of appropriating for all non-education agencies and entities.

Caucus Structure

Majority Leader Greg Reed serves as the head of the Alabama Senate Republican Caucus at the direction of Senate Pro Tem Del Marsh. Working together, the 26-members discuss the legislative agenda and make decisions about the bills proposed and debated.


NOTE: The Caucus operates in conjunction with the Alabama Senate Republican Conference, Inc. (ASRC), the entity tasked with providing non-election research, communications, and advice to the members of the caucus. The ASRC does not solicit lobbyists and does not participate in elections.